Citizens of Lithuania and Latvia are allowed visa-free entry to Belarus from April 15

Citizens of Lithuania and Latvia have been allowed visa-free entry to Belarus since 15 April, BelTA informs with reference to the State Border Committee.

“Against the background of long-term coronavirus restrictions, citizens of neighboring EU countries are currently unable to visit their relatives in Belarus due to the lack of visas. Given these circumstances, as well as in connection with the approaching Orthodox and Catholic religious holidays, the country’s leadership has given the right to visa-free entry, exit and stay in Belarus to citizens of Latvia (as well as non-citizens of Latvia) and Lithuania,” reads the statement.

The SBC added: it will be possible to cross the border without a visa for this category of citizens at the checkpoints on the Belarusian-Latvian and Belarusian-Lithuanian sections of the border. This order will be valid from 00:00 on April 15 to May 15, inclusive. During this period, the citizens of Latvia (with the status of non-citizens of Latvia) and Lithuania may use the right of visa-free entry to Belarus unlimited number of times and stay throughout the territory of Belarus.

“Also for this category of visitors it is allowed to visit the border area without a pass. To do this, when entering the Republic of Belarus at the checkpoint, one must verbally inform a border officer about the intention to visit the border zone, as well as specify towns and the purpose of their visit,” the State Border Committee.

The agency reminds that all foreign nationals must present a valid travel document, health insurance, a green card (when traveling by car) and a negative PCR test or a certificate of vaccination to enter Belarus.

By admin